As I was driving home from Good Will today (round 2 of massive decluttering preparatory to sending my eldest off to college), “Shout,” by Tears for Fears suddenly came up on Spotify:

In case you don’t want to play the clip, here are some of the lyrics:

Shout
Shout
Let it all out
These are the things I can do without
Come on
I’m talking to you
Come on
Shout
Shout
Let it all out
These are the things I can do without
Come on
I’m talking to you
Come on
In violent times
You shouldn’t have to sell your soul
In black and white
They really really ought to know
Those one track minds
That took you for a working boy
Kiss them goodbye
You shouldn’t have to jump for joy
You shouldn’t have to shout for joy
Shout
Shout
Let it all out
These are the things I can do without
Come on
I’m talking to you
Come on
As so often happens, this divinatory message has more than one layer of meaning for me. Yes, on the physical level, I was dropping off the things I could do without at Good Will.
But what about the other things I could do without? What about the pent up things that I could SAY, but often don’t? What about the many times when I compassionately listen to others, but don’t tell them what I think? What about the times when I let people “mansplain,” or patronize, out of kindness because I think they need to say what they need to get out–but I’m still holding all my thoughts in? I strongly believe in respecting other people’s points of view, but do I do so at the risk of never, ever, expressing my own?
I think I need to do more shouting.
Leave a Reply

